GED is an acronym for General Education Development. This certifies that the test taker has high American or Canadian High school level capabilities. This is also popularly known as General Equivalency Diploma or General Education Diploma. This has been designed and developed by the American Council on Education.

General Education Development (GED) Test Benefits:

This certification is valued as a high school diploma by many government institutions all over the world. It can be taken as a fulfilled eligibility criteria for admissions to higher courses.

Who should take the test?

The following are the eligibility conditions for the test:

  • Residency: each state or province can administer the test who meets the criteria for eligibility of that area.
  • Educational: a person with neither a high school diploma nor a GED certified candidate is eligible.
  • Enrollment: The test can’t be taken by candidates already enrolled for a high school program.
  • Age: The test taker must at least be 16 years of age.

What does the test do?

The five areas tested are Language Arts Part I and II. Part I has writing, social studies and science. Part II has reading and mathematics. The format is as follows:

  • Writing Part I : sentence organization, structure, usage etc where  they correct or improve already written paragraphs. 75 minutes 50 items.
  • Writing part II: essay in 45 minutes.
  • Social studies: 70 minutes 50 questions on American history, world history, civics, government, economics and geography.
  • Science: 80 minutes 50 questions on life science, earth, space sciences, and physical science.
  • Reading: 65 minute 40 question with five fiction and two non fiction passages to read from. Then questions are asked.
  • Mathematics: 90 minute 50 questions on areas of number operations, number sense, measurement, geometry, data analysis, probability, statistics, algebra, functions, and patterns.

Take a sample test:

No comments

Leave a Reply